Sex Offender Registry Terms in Texas
What are the Consequences of Violating the Texas Sex Offender Registration Terms?
Here’s a quick rundown of what you need to know about the Texas Sex Offender Registry.
If you have been convicted of certain sex crimes, you must obey the Texas sex offender registration standards. That means they may have to register as a sex offender where they live or travel. If you are registered as a sex offender, you must take these requirements seriously otherwise, it will lead to legal consequences.
What does it mean to register as a Sex Offender in Texas?
The registry in Texas is maintained by the TX Department of Public Safety. It keeps the public well-informed of registered sex offenders in their area so they can be aware and stay safe.
In Texas, sex offenders who have committed certain crimes must register on a list that can be viewed by the public. Some sex crimes may only require registration for a few years, while others require someone to be registered for their entire lifetime.
The offender registry lets you know someone’s risk level, physical description, aliases they go by, where they live and the type of conviction that led to their registration requirement. Every individual registered sex offender is required to provide this information to the registry as mandated by law. We respect your privacy and don't collect personal information such as your Social Security number or phone number.
Restrictions of Registered Sex Offenders
Where they travel
Where they can live
Attendance of community events
Contact with Minors
The Consequences of Not Following the Registry.
Registered sex offenders may face restrictions on their travel, where they can live, attendance at community events, employment, internet access, contact with minors, voting status, and firearms ownership. Failure to adhere to these restrictions can result in probation being revoked, resulting in the possibility of fines or imprisonment. In Texas, multiple offenses of failing to comply with the sex offender registry can be considered a felony in the first degree, punishable by up to 99 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.